top of page

Author interview

By Virginia Wallace


When did you start writing? What made you first decide to try your hand at it?


I first started writing in my teens. I started off writing poetry to express how I felt. Some people described it as dark poetry.


What was your first published work? What do you think of it now?


Some of my poetry was published in anthologies.


Do people you actually know make appearances in your stories?


Yes, I based a character from my upcoming novel, Secret Love, on my ex.


Do family members or friends help with your writing?


They’ve helped me by being supportive, giving constructive feedback and providing inspiration for my characters.


Do you have stories you want to write that you haven’t yet?


Yes, I have quite a few ideas running around in my head. I am planning a sequel for Secret Love, but it seems to be taking a darker route.


Is there a story you’re afraid to write for some reason? Why?


The sequel of Secret Love. The main character discovers a side to her lover that scares her. There is a thin line between pleasure and pain.


Do you ever target differing age groups or demographics with your writing?


I have a fairly wide target demographic, ranging from age 20-60+


Have you ever written non-fiction? If so, what?


The first book I wrote was a non-fiction piece on astronomy .


Are you a ‘normal’ person who likes to write, or do you consider yourself more of the tormented/driven ‘artist’ type?


I guess I am fairly normal, but with a dark side. That dark side is expressed through writing, art and music.


Are you married? How does being a writer affect that? Has your marriage affected the way you write love stories?


I’m not married, but I’m in a committed relationship with my soulmate and best friend. When I met him, I realised that the kind of love which is described in poetry and songs actually existed.


If you could see one of your stories made into a movie, which one would you pick and why?


I would like my novel, Secret Love, to be made into a movie. It reminds me of a movie called ‘Notes on a Scandal‘ which is also about a female teacher engaging in an affair with a student. Though my story focuses more on the teacher’s assistant and is more than just purely physical.


How does your life experience influence your writing?


All my experiences growing up and work experiences have influenced my writing. I am also influenced by some of my favourite movies, music and novels.


Do you try to keep your stories within their pre-determined genres, or do you just tell the story your way regardless of genre expectations?


I definitely just tell the story. Genre can be decided later.


Do you listen to music when you write? If so, what kinds? Does music influence your stories?


Not usually, but I occasionally listen to instrumental music when I write.


Have you ever written a story based on a personal experience you had? If so, what was it about?


Not yet, but I considered writing about the experiences of a relative with a serious mental illness and a friend with Asperger’s. I wanted to tackle the stigma and the stereotypes associated with it.


Is your writing time planned out or structured? Do you go on writing ‘benders’?


Sometimes I go by a rough plan, but sometimes I write and see where the story takes me.


What to you is the most rewarding aspect of being a writer?

Reading the finished product and feeling a sense of achievement.


Who is your favourite author, and why?


I have so many favourite authors, but one of my favourite books of all time is Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein.(Virginia’s Note: I KNEW I loved F. Burn!!!)


Which character of yours is your favourite? Why? Whom would you pick to play him/her/it in a movie?


My favourite character is Ritchie from Secret Love, because he is a complex individual with needs. I would pick a young Jonathan Scarfe to play him.


Do you prefer to read fiction that’s similar to what you write, or do you pick different types of stories?


I usually read horror, science-fiction, dystopian and non-fiction.


What’s one quirky thing about you that your readers might not know?


I am also an artist, who dabbles in song writing, making jewellery, astrology and photography.


What’s your favourite movie? Why?


One of my favourite movies is Alien. I love the design of the alien by H.R. Giger and how the alien is a deadly parasite that gestates inside of a human host.


THANK you so much F. Burn! Here’s wishing you a bright future, and CONGRATULATIONS on the release of Secret Love!!!


Read the full interview here:




Recent Posts

See All

Author interview with Eileen Troemel

Tell us about yourself. I am an erotic romance author based in the UK. I am especially interested in writing stories which explore the dark side of human nature. I enjoy developing complex characters

bottom of page